Uncategorized

Lucy, I’m Home!

I Love Lucy, don’t you?  🙂

Yesterday, we had our last fro-yo date: 😦

dairy free raspberry yogurt with black berries, raspberries, kiwi, strawberries and peanuts

Frozen yogurt just might be the best “outting” dessert ever created…convincing my dad to open a fro-yo shop is a work in progress. 😉

We reminisced about the year and gabbed about the latest Real World drama.  If you don’t watch the Real World, I highly suggest that you do!  It’s great for weekly trashy tv.

I then embarked on my long 50 minute drive home, which ended up being 2 hours thanks to rush hour traffic.  Almost ran out of gas, but I made it home, quickly showered, and got dressed to go out to dinner for my parents anniversary!

My brother, he's single and ready to migle, ladies! 😉

We went to Tiffin, an Indian restaurant near home.  All of the food was delicious and so filling!

Lentils cooked for 36 hours with Indian spices

Traditional north indian chick pea curry flavored with fenugreek, onions and tomatoes.

My mom’s dish-Chicken in a spiced cashew cream sauce.

All dishes were enjoyed and highly recommended!

We got home around nine and I passed out within an hour.  Sleep deprivation finally caught up with me so it felt good to pass out without an alarm to wake me.  However, I still woke up around 9:30 to find that my dad had just gotten up as well so I made us both breakfast:

Mango Vanilla Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup raw oats
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 mango, split into 2 parts
  • 1/4 cup frozen berries
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • cinnamon to taste
  • allspice to taste

Combine oats, almond milk, water and sliced banana.  Microwave for 1 minute and then add half of the mango portion, 1 teaspoon vanilla, cinnamon and allspice.  Microwave for another minute, remove, add the other teaspoon of vanilla extract and more cinnamon or allspice if desired.  Top with the rest of the mango and berries.

The mango and vanilla flavors really complemented each other and the fresh fruit made it the perfect summer breakfast!

That breakfast fueled my afternoon of unpacking my life.

I took my room from this:

a tornado came through

I spy a doggy that just woke up!

to this:

see, there was a floor in there somewhere..

I spy my best friend, Collin 🙂

I recently took a well needed break for some lunch and blog reading:

arugula, spinach, carrots, broccoli and artichoke/tomato salsa
Ezekiel sprouted bread, orange, grapefruit

I didn’t even need to edit the above 2 pictures to keep them from looking like something out of a black and white movie!  I love sunshine and fresh fruit and vegetables!

I’m getting ready to go for a run and then I’m going food shopping with my brother.  We’re making dinner tonight…stay tuned for a vegan tofu Parmesan recipe :).

It’s Friday!  The weekend has finally arrived.  Summer time definitely makes weekends less exciting, but I’m going to make this a good one!

Questions:

  • What are you doing this weekend?
  • Do you love Lucy? Hehehe
5 thoughts on “Lucy, I’m Home!

Leave a Reply

