Uncategorized

Tofu Parmesan

Happy Friday night, everyone!  Hopefully none of you are home reading this! I hope you’re out doing something fun (like i should be!)

Anyways, before going on what ended up being a 50 minute run, my mom came home a surprised me with a little mood-lifter- a tub of natural peanut butter!

I used it to make a quick pre-run snack:

gala apple with freshly made peanut butter!

The run went well and I ended with 25 minutes of abs.

  • crunches
  • medicine ball twists
  • planks
  • V-ups
  • leg lifts
  • other random exercises

My brother and I made our way to the market for tonight’s dinner ingredients.  Can I just say that I love supermarkets?  I could honestly spend hours just looking at the products and thinking of things to make…

We made a large salad and Tofu Parmesan:

It was not vegan, however, all of the dairy ingredients can easily be changed for vegan!  I haven’t gotten my family on the vegan cheese bandwagon…yet…

Tofu Parmesan (This is not my recipe.  It was printed offline)

Ingredients:

  • 1 block tofu, soft or firm
  • tomato sauce (we mixed it with a bag of steamed veggies)
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 5 Tbs. (vegan) parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • (vegan) mozzarella cheese

Step 1: mix the breadcrumbs, 2 Tbs parmesan cheese, oregano and salt and pepper in a small bowl.

My phone died before I could upload the picture.

Step 2: cut the tofu into 1/4 inch slices and dip each piece into a bowl of water and then into the breadcrumbs to evenly coat each piece.

evenly coated 🙂

Step 3:  get your sauce ready.  We used Ragu and included some steamed veggies.

Step 4:  heat a medium sized skillet with a table spoon of olive oil.  Brown the tofu slices on one side and then flip them.  (some bread crumbs will come off-that’s fine)

Step 5:  coat the bottom of a baking dish in sauce, layer the tofu on top, pour the rest of the sauce mixture.  Then coat it with 3 Tbs. parmesan cheese, some mozzarella cheese and a sprinkle of leftover bread crumbs.

Step 6: bake at 400* for 20 minutes and let it set for a few minutes.

Step 7: enjoy!  Share it with friends and family…or eat it all yourself!

all that was left!

I tried a small bite and it was so good!  My family loved it, even my mom…she isn’t completely sold on the totally meatless thing.  We’ll get her there soon 😉

Anyways,  I’m staying in tonight while my friends and my entire grade are at a party.  The girl who is having a party has been holding a grudge against me for three years.  I really just want to be friends with her, but she isn’t having it.  Oh well, I tried, right?

Have a good night!!

Questions:

  • Do you know anyone who is holding a grudge against you over something small?  How do you deal with it?

    2 thoughts on “Tofu Parmesan

    1. I used to be kind of friends with this girl I worked with. She was on my facebook page. After I quit the job and she moved to Washington, I deleted her. (I keep my page pretty small.) She re-friended me asking why I deleted her but I ignored it.
      Later, I saw her walking through the parking garage at my school (must have been in town visiting.) She glared at me but refused to talk! Another reason why I don’t like facebook.

    2. The tofu parmesan looks delicious! I’ve never tried baking tofu like that. I may just give it a whirl in the near future! And I TOTALLY agree with you about grocery stores! They are just a world of wonders haha

    Leave a Reply

    