Uncategorized

Happy Mama’s Day

Happy Mother’s Day to all of you and your mothers!

We never really do much on Mother’s Day.  We just have a BBQ and do little things like give cards and bring her juice in bed.

My mommy and me in Puerto Ricoooo

I didn’t get to sleep until 4AM this morning because my friends were over and we watched Girl Interrupted.  It is such a weird movie, good, but definitely strange.

I woke up bright and early to walk to the farmers market with my parents, but of course, at 10:30, they weren’t even up.  Instead of going back to bed, I made breakfast for my dad and me:

Oatmeal pancakes

Banana Oatmeal Pancakes

  • 3/4 cup raw oats
  • 1/4-1/2 cup almond milk
  • cinnamon to taste
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 banana

Mix all of the ingredients together.  It should be pasty-the texture of pancake batter.  Heat a griddle and spray with cooking spray and spoon the batter into the pan.  When they’re brown on one side, flip them.  Cook them until they look cooked mostly through, but they can be a little bit uncooked to keep them from drying out.

Top the mini pancakes with banana slices and then I made an apple-peanut butter sauce.  Chop a quarter apple and put the pieces into a small bowl with cinnamon and water.  Heat for one minute and then add a spoonful of peanut butter and heat for another minute.  Stir and pour over pancakes.

They were delicious and SOOOOO filling!  My dad couldn’t even finish them all.

We went to the farmers market and I bought a vegan & gluten free oatmeal raisin cookie.  I can’t wait to try it later 🙂

I just made lunch for my dad and me.  After seeing the ice cream truck multiple times on our walk, we decided that a childhood favorite sounded like a good choice for lunch…with a side of vegetables, of course.

7 grain wheat sandwich thin with peanut butter and strawberry slices

The spinach salad was topped with salsa and homemade hummus that I made last night.

I used chickpeas, olive oil, oregano, salt, pepper, harissa and cayenne pepper.  amazing

Questions:

  • What are you doing for mother’s day?
4 thoughts on “Happy Mama’s Day

Leave a Reply

