Food / Weekend

Something About Sunday Brunch

…makes me so happy!

Although I eat dinner with my family most nights during the week, and breakfast with my dad most mornings, I still look forward to these Sunday brunches.  There is just something about it… Sunday morning is the only morning during the week that I happily roll out of bed before 8:30 am.  I always say that my happiest time is the morning and I think it’s definitely true about everyone else, as well.  Maybe it’s the morning sunshine, or the rarity of eating breakfast together.  Or maybe…it’s all the delicious, special foods that we make and put together!  That’s got to be it.

We had waffles on the menu for this week, but after we started pulling things out, we realized brunch was a bit carb-heavy and instead, opted to make omelets.

On the menu:

Fruit Salad: pineapple, mango and blueberries, garnished with fresh mint.ImageImageMint is my new favorite herb.  Sorry basil, you’re out.

Assortment of breads and pastries: raisin bread, sweetened-condensed milk croissant, currant croissants, homemade chocolate-chip cake, and butter cake

ImageOmelets: with sautéed onions, sheep’s milk feta cheese and mozzarella cheeseImage

Strawberry-Rhubarb PieImage

My dad made this Saturday night and it is AMAZING.  Before brunch, I had never had strawberry-rhubarb pie, but I am definitely a fan!  My favorite part, though, was the dough.  Perfectly flaky and buttery and so, so, so much better than any store-bought dough.  Good work, dad 😉  The pie was the only thing I went back for seconds on…and then I ate the leftover crust on everyone’s plates.  Yum.ImageEverything was incredible, but was made even tastier by the people sitting around the table: my mom, dad, brother, Russ, and his brother, Matt.  It was a special brunch today, since we were welcoming Leland home from a nine day hiking expedition.  We all enjoyed hearing his crazy stories about living in the woods for nine days!

After brunch, I quickly got dressed and biked to the pool.  It was a long, hot day, BUT…..

I HAD MY FIRST SAVE (ever) TODAY!  Very exciting!  Now that I have done it, I don’t feel so scared for it to happen again (not that I want it to happen, though!).

In other news, I have the most oblivious cat when it comes to personal space.ImageI was reading and Misu took it upon himself to crawl on my stomach and sit there for me to pet him.  When I would stop petting him (in attempts to take pictures), he would nuzzle his head into my neck.  Crazy cat…

ImageQuestion: What is your absolute favorite brunch food?

Leave a comment